DIRTY hair cream from LUSH

One of those adult things you don’t think about when you have to be independent is what household and hygiene products you’re going to buy. Suddenly that expensive toilet paper doesn’t seem like such a good idea. You have the option of sticking with the brands you’d used forever, going the cheapest route, or trying something new. For my recent hair experiment, I tried something new.

Over the summer I chopped my hair from mid-back to shoulder length, and then from shoulder length to a long-ish pixie cut. It was a dramatic change that I’m not sure I’ll repeat again, but I love that I tried it and it’s been a lot of fun. lush7

I wanted my hair long enough in the front that I could tuck it behind my ears, but ended up with bangs. They were constantly falling in my eyes and no amount of hairspray would keep them in place. After a month of stealing and testing my family’s various hair products and hauling around a purse full of bobby pins I ventured to the mall for a solution. I stopped at LUSH to see what they had, and after the requisite spiel from the helpful salesperson, and a blur of product names I don’t remember, I ended up trying a styling cream called DIRTY.

lush4

And I love it. Seriously, it does everything I wanted it to.

It keeps a decent hold on my bangs without looking shiny or weird.

What I like most about it is that my hair isn’t stiff or totally in place. I can run my hands through it (which I do a lot) and can barely feel it there.

I normally just stick my fingertips in the little pot of styling cream and rub them together before I run them over my bangs and combing them to the side. Rubbing my hands makes the cream warm up and melt a bit. It works if you don’t do that, but your hair may appear shiny for a bit longer before you comb or rub it in more.

And that’s it, that’s all it takes to stay in place. It still blows in the wind and feels natural, but normally I just have to comb it down with my hand and it’s back in place. If I comb or brush it for a few minutes it feels like the cream is totally out of my hair. And if for some reason that doesn’t work (it hasn’t been a problem yet) I just have to stick my bangs under the water in the sink or shower.

It’s not gel or hairspray, it doesn’t have that same grip and stay-still-in-a-hurricane that other products have, but it works great as a loose hold styling cream for keeping bangs or flyaways under control. We’ll see if it still works just as well as my hair gets longer.

Let me know what you think

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

